M Restaurants | Young Chef Awards

The Young Chef of the Year 2019 Competition

THE YOUNG CHEF OF THE YEAR FINALISTS HAVE BEEN ANNOUNCED!

The M & Bookatable Young Chef of the Year Contest is back for its third year, showcasing the wealth of great young talent in the industry. Following grueling heats in London and Manchester, the finalists will now each host their own pop-up night, with points awarded by both judges and diners – and with top chefs such as Adam Handling and James Knappett on the judging panel, the heat is on.

The chefs will be judged on the quality of their 4-course menu, but also on their approach to sustainability and their ability to demonstrate a zero-waste philosophy and ethical sourcing of produce. The winner will not only be crowned Young Chef of the Year 2019, but they will get the chance to cook their signature dish at the awards ceremony on 4 September, as well as receiving mentoring from M Restaurants Culinary Director Mike Reid, and a trip to Champagne courtesy of Champagne Pommery.

Sixteen talented chefs have made the final stages, and will be serving their signature menus throughout July. Find out more about the chefs below, and click book to sample cooking from what could be the next big name in the restaurant world… and remember, 50% of the finalists’ scores are awarded by diners, so this is your chance to help crown 2019’s Young Chef of the Year.

Patrick Metselaar – From Kricket: Tuesday 9th July
Lilly Stock – From Boodle’s: Wednesday 10th July
Jamie Warley – From St Ermin’s Hotel: Thursday 11th July
Stefano Camplone – From Barge East: Friday 12th July
John Carreon – From Holiday Inn: Saturday 13th July
Davide Mastrangeli – Fairmont: Tuesday 16th July
Jordan Kerridge – From The Stafford Hotel: Wednesday 17th July
Kishun Chhiba – From The Cinnamon Club: Thursday 18th July
Milan Maffioli – Bokan 37: Friday 19th July
Lucy Wigmore – From Tewin Bury Farm Hotel: Saturday 20th July
Luke Bryan – From Kricket: Tuesday 23rd July
Roberto Teccolo – From Umu: Wednesday 24th July
Matthew Hurry – From Laurent at Hotel Café Royal: Thursday 25th July
Salvatore Ascolese – From Gaucho: Friday 26th July
Will Bowman Smith – From The Red Lion: Tuesday 30th July
Michael Turner – From Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: Wednesday 31st July